Mitch Brown
Sole Survivor

Нейтральний
Здобуток. Ally

Ally. Wayfarer.

Cost: 3.
Test Icons:
Health: 2. Sanity: 2.

Leo Anderson deck only.

You have 2 additional ally slots, which can only be used to hold non-unique allies.

"You ain't going nowhere without me, Leo.
So you might as well tell me what's going on."
Ilich Henriquez
The Forgotten Age #6.
Mitch Brown
FAQs (taken from the official FAQ or FFG's responses to the official rules question form)
  • The new FAQ (v.1.3, May 2018) entry changes the slot rule to the following: "If playing or gaining control of an asset would put an investigator above his or her slot limit for that type of asset, the investigator must choose and discard other assets under his or her control simultaneously with the new asset entering the slot." This is different from the previous rule, which said "If an investigator is at his or her slot limit for a type of asset and wishes to play or gain control of a different asset that would use that slot..." The difference here is that with the way the rule is now worded, you only have to discard other assets if playing a card puts you above your slot limit. Previously, if I had an ally in play and wanted to play an ally, I would first have to discard that ally because I was “at my slot limit” for allies. With the new rule, I only have to discard the ally that is in play if playing a new ally would put me above my slot limit. This means that you are now able to play an asset while you are at your slot limit without discarding an asset, provided that asset gives you the slots you need to keep them both in play.
Last updated
Reviews

I was not too clear on the new FAQ wording for slots so I requested some clarity from FFG. Official answer:

Greetings,

The new FAQ entry changes the slot rule to the following: “If playing or gaining control of an asset would put an investigator above his or her slot limit for that type of asset, the investigator must choose and discard other assets under his or her control simultaneously with the new asset entering the slot.” This is different from the previous rule, which said “If an investigator is at his or her slot limit for a type of asset and wishes to play or gain control of a different asset that would use that slot...”

The difference here is that with the way the rule is now worded, you only have to discard other assets if playing a card puts you above your slot limit. Previously, if I had an ally in play and wanted to play an ally, I would first have to discard that ally because I was “at my slot limit” for allies. With the new rule, I only have to discard the ally that is in play if playing a new ally would put me above my slot limit.

This means that you are now able to play an asset while you are at your slot limit without discarding an asset, provided that asset gives you the slots you need to keep them both in play.

I hope that helps! Cheers,


Matthew Newman Senior Card Game Developer Fantasy Flight Games

Xulez · 127
Does that mean that if you have an ally on the board and play Mitch, you can keep them both?? If so, that is great!! :)) — matt88 · 2200
yes, assuming that your other Allys in play are non-unique (since Mitch himself is a unique Ally). — Faranim · 272
Wow, this makes this sig card insanely better. — clydeiii · 36

Mitch saved the life of Leo in the canon, so there would be no Leo without Mitch. He was the sole survivor of the last expedition from Leo and deserves our love just for that.

Mitch Brown is an wonderful Ally for Leo Anderson. At 3 cost, it is well priced for 2 sanity and 2 health, but you won't be using him for soaking damage. His power is equivalent to 2 Charisma, with the extra limitation to hold non-unique ally only. I don't find this limitation very problematic, as has enough excellent non-unique allies, between Beat Cop, Venturer and Guard Dog.

Mitch is also a wonderful target to Calling in Favors, as he makes it possible to replay the ally returned to the hand playable the very next turn - giving an extra ally slot and respawning an ally for 1 action. Finally, playing Mitch feels GOOD. You get the feeling of someone having your back. ready to deploy a full expedition behind you.

Overall, I love the card as it fits the mechanics of Leo extremely well, is well balanced and tells us super cool stories of friendship.

batman14 · 6
Hear hear! Mitch falls into that category of "boring, but awesome" that you occasionally see, much like Beat Cop or Lightning Gun. He's also one of those signature cards that feels like it completes your investigator when it comes down. He's great! — SGPrometheus · 506