Predator or Prey

Of the two level 0 Dilemmas that have been displayed so far, I believe this to be the stronger one. The basic use is obvious - if you have enemies in play, decide how you want to manipulate the scenario to handle them. There are a few major chunks to break down, and some interesting factors to consider for each of these.

  • If there are no enemies in play, draw 1 card.
    • On its own, this can be valuable. It means that your card draw will not be 'wasted' by this, and it can be thought of as either giving you a free draw or a free 'play' of its actions whenever it pops out.
    • In Survivor decks, even this case is okay - after all, it's putting the equivalent of a fast event in your discard pile in your discard.
  • Each unengaged enemy moves once towards the nearest investigator.
    • This often can be a 'do little' option. If all of the enemies around are already engaged or at locations with investigators they will just sit there.
    • If you draw this during upkeep, it means you will have already dodged the window for an attack, so there is less harm in drawing enemies closer.
    • If you draw this during the investigator phase, but you have already evaded an enemy, it's still fine - while the enemy is moved, it does not ready or attack, so it will not be any inconvenience.
    • This does not specify non-elite enemies, so in unusual cases, it can be used to move a large creature out of its normal resting place.
    • The main time this is a poor decision is if you were trying to keep away from a Hunter. (But if that's the case, the second option will more likely serve better.)
  • Each investigator disengages from each enemy engaged with them and moves once away from the nearest enemy.
    • A free disengage/movement is very valuable if you weren't planning on fighting, and can be especially helpful if a group is trying to deal with multiple enemies at the same time. This is especially valuable since it is a combination of non-action, automatic evades and movement.
    • Investigators only move away from the nearest enemy. This means that if you have two enemies in adjacent locations, you can disengage from your enemy to hop on to another enemy. This is more useful for monster fighters when they are swamped - they can look for better targets.
    • This option also allows for mass movement in cases where you have a non-hunter enemy stewing somewhere. In those cases, it gives everybody a free movement - and since you often no longer want to be at the location where you've left an enemy, that will often be in the appropriate direction.
    • The main time this is a poor decision is if you have a scenario where some investigators want to fight and others want to flee. From my tests, even these cases weren't a major problem. People who needed to evade gained more than what the fighters lose. The fighters can 'catch up' by only spending a single action - and it also means they will tend towards automatically engaging the target or being in the proper position to tank hits, rather than needing to make additional considerations for engage actions or dangerous attacks.

On its own, this card can be a little inconsistent, but can save plenty of trouble by giving the entire group a bit of movement or manipulation. I've found that even in situations where it's 'wasteful', those are situations that are often safe enough that the waste is not dangerous. But when it's useful, it's very useful, potentially giving an entire team safety and mass movement. Combined with Survivor recursion tricks, and this also adds the ability to manipulate enemies or protect allies with Resourceful or even Scrounge for Supplies. On its own, it's a reasonable card. With the tricks Survivors can pull, this can be a solid pick.

(Note that this works under the thought that Revelation abilities on these cards work the same way as on weaknesses - if they do not, survivor recursion tricks may not work in the same way, so figuring that out would be an entirely separate set of considerations.)

Ruduen · 733
So good in Midnight masks! — MrGoldbee · 1265
Just a small addition so that is clear. This choice contains the word must which means you have to choose an option that changes game state. If the first option doesn't move any enemies you have to choose the second — NarkasisBroon · 9
"If there are no enemies in play, draw 1 card." is player card lingu for "this card gains surge". If there are no enemies in play, the effect would be useless, so you draw 1 card instead. There is no survivor recurring synergy in that, though. Drawing the card from the discard pile does not trigger the revelation. — Susumu · 220
Soul Sanctification

This card is probably going to allow 'heal decks' to become a thing.

Right now, there are cards that ask gently to have a 'heal engine.' Cards like Field Agent, Beat Cop (2), Agency Backup, Guard Dog, and Spirit of Humanity allow you to convert healing into positive tempo.

The problem with these cards is that while the combination is positive tempo (You can trade, for example, a card and action from Soothing Melody into 2 clues or 2 damage with the 'pain for gain' guardian allies) you need to hit very exact numbers to actually get those benefits. If you heal 1 damage from beat cop but he doesn't have any lost sanity (or to be honest even if he does a bit) you are paying a card and action for just 1 damage, which isn't great. It is... fiddly.

Soul Sanctification makes focusing on healing allies a lot less fiddly because you now can utilize healing cards to get a fairly good effect whenever you have excessive 'flex-heal' or when you have a heal and nothing to use it on. +2 to a skill test for every point healed often is going to be just a bit less efficient than these little auto pings of damage and clues. You are paying a lot for the ability to just ignore healing the asset (and you need to not heal the asset for 'single target' heals), but luckily it is also good enough to run as its own self contained strategy, which is what I think really seals this as an 'archetype.'

Good heal cards in Arkham tend to heal at least 2 per-action, meaning that Soul Sanctification allows them to become a more flexible activation of Encyclopedia you can bank. And that is a lower end good heal card, you can do MUCH better.

For example, in survivor and mystic, assuming you can hit at least a 6 test value on Earthly Serenity, your looking at 'spend 2 actions, get +12 spread across important tests. If your Daisy, you can utilize medical texts alongside or instead of Dream Diary in order to constantly generate 2 phantom unexpected courage cards every turn which is an extremely competitive use of her free book activation.

Not every deck wants to run this, but it completely changes the value of healing for a lot of characters. Outside of the obvious of Carolyn and Vincent, some other good candidates for this card include Mark, Leo, Daisy, and Skids (especially || front, X back Skids) of all people.

dezzmont · 128
Soul Sanctification

For a 6 xp card, theres not many targets for this effect. Side question however, can you heal 1 from a target that has nothing to be healed and would this trigger the overheal?

200characters 200characters 200characters 200characters

LunR · 1
Normally you can't trigger an effect if this don't change the gamestate. But put an offering on this card is a game change. So with this card you should be able to heal a healthy investigator. — Tharzax · 1
Here is the review section, not the question section. Anyway, as I know, that's arguable ruling. Could you ask this question into FFG and update into this review? That may be great contribution to this community, I think. You can ask into FFG via https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/contact/rules/ — elkeinkrad · 336
Yes that would still work, that's the big draw for the card. " — Vlishy · 1
Stealth

This card is going to have a second life with Kymani, the evader’s evader. The tricky thing is, this card isn’t for the first evade you do a round; it’s for the second. That one doesn’t matter if you exhaust an enemy, because they’re exhausted. Combined with the police whistle, it might feel that the grappling hook becomes secondary in many cases. (It really depends where clues are versus enemies on the board.) Still, a +2 and a free action for something you want to do almost every turn of the game in multiplayer, hard to beat.

(There’s also a combo using stealth on your nemesis weakness or the Guardian of the crystallizer, because those enemies won’t engage anyone else, even if you leave them in a room with three other investigators!)

MrGoldbee · 1265
I see no real value of the Riot Whistle in Kymani? They has (have?) any number of free engage built into their ability, as long as they are exhausted. Sure, they could engage enemies off other investigators or aloof ones, but that seems not enough value to me. — Susumu · 220
Depends on the team really, if they are primarily an enemy manager in group with 3 seekers, they will probably be taking an engage action most turns. If they are solo clearly it's all but useless. Most games will be somewhere between those two extremes — NarkasisBroon · 9
Many of the people that you want to discard but can’t kill are aloof. The best example is probably silver twilight lodge members. — MrGoldbee · 1265
Fair, that sounds like sick deck tec for "For the Greater Good". I can see now including the Whistle for certain scenarios with Adaptable. But I think in most cases, Kymani will have better cards in that slot. — Susumu · 220
I think both opinion are good. That's your preference, and I think either is not bad. — elkeinkrad · 336
Here, I add one more opinion. Kymani could evade any enemy in their location using Breaking and Entering; then, they can engage for free. Morever, Breaking and Entering (2) will be released, so that they can play it for each round. — elkeinkrad · 336
Mist-Pylon

I am wondering can it cancel Sophie’s direct damage by Mark Hurrigan? Since there is no such constraint that this effect can only be activated once per turn, Mark may have infinite skill value. Do I understand the effect correctly? Or maybe the direct damage from Sophie cannot activate this effect?

wzh719 · 1
You can, but you won't get + 2 skill value, because taking damage from Sophie is a cost, so when you cancel damage, cost won't be paid, and effect from Sophie won't resolve. — Kryha30 · 10
Compare the rule for canceling. There is written that canceling something the effect is not initiated. This means you don't initiate the payment and therefore can't use the card effect. — Tharzax · 1
Just to be contrary. While "if you cancel the costs you cancel the effect" is common in ffg rpgs, and could perhaps be inferred from some rulings. It's not written anywhere in the rules or faq. The closest thing is when it comes time to pay the cost if you cannot pay the cost the effect is cancelled. That's in the advanced initiation sequence which is in the faq iirc — NarkasisBroon · 9
*lcgs not rpgs — NarkasisBroon · 9
That being said the section on cancelling in the rrg only says that you can cancel effects, so it could easily be argued you can't cancel costs at all, the word cancel doesn't even apply to costs — NarkasisBroon · 9
You can also argue that the active wording of taking damage is not covered from the pylons description which implies that the damage is dealt — Tharzax · 1