Nahab
  • Q: In the scenario Return to The Secret Name, there are two locations that can add/remove tokens to/from Nahab while she is in an out of play area, Library of Ebla and The Price Manor. These do not specify which out of play areas are legal areas for cards to hold tokens so what is the intended resolution for adding tokens to Nahab if she is in the encounter discard pile or the encounter deck? There are a number of scenarios that rely on cards in out of play areas (set aside, victory display, special areas) being able to host cards so are the rules for cards in decks and discard piles different in some fashion? A: Nahab is physically unable to hold tokens if she is in the encounter deck or encounter discard pile, so you would not place tokens on Nahab if she were in those places. You can, however, place tokens on Nahab if she is set-aside, such as at the very beginning of the scenario.
Last updated
The Price Manor
  • Q: In the scenario Return to The Secret Name, there are two locations that can add/remove tokens to/from Nahab while she is in an out of play area, Library of Ebla and The Price Manor. These do not specify which out of play areas are legal areas for cards to hold tokens so what is the intended resolution for adding tokens to Nahab if she is in the encounter discard pile or the encounter deck? There are a number of scenarios that rely on cards in out of play areas (set aside, victory display, special areas) being able to host cards so are the rules for cards in decks and discard piles different in some fashion? A: Nahab is physically unable to hold tokens if she is in the encounter deck or encounter discard pile, so you would not place tokens on Nahab if she were in those places. You can, however, place tokens on Nahab if she is set-aside, such as at the very beginning of the scenario.
Last updated
Library of Ebla
  • Q: In the scenario Return to The Secret Name, there are two locations that can add/remove tokens to/from Nahab while she is in an out of play area, Library of Ebla and The Price Manor. These do not specify which out of play areas are legal areas for cards to hold tokens so what is the intended resolution for adding tokens to Nahab if she is in the encounter discard pile or the encounter deck? There are a number of scenarios that rely on cards in out of play areas (set aside, victory display, special areas) being able to host cards so are the rules for cards in decks and discard piles different in some fashion? A: Nahab is physically unable to hold tokens if she is in the encounter deck or encounter discard pile, so you would not place tokens on Nahab if she were in those places. You can, however, place tokens on Nahab if she is set-aside, such as at the very beginning of the scenario.
Last updated
The Heart of Madness
  • Q: The FAQ specifies that effects that apply to “the next scenario” only apply to the first part of a two parter - see supplies effects and Heart of the Elders. However is not clear if this ruling also applies to checkpointed scenarios in Edge of the Earth. Specifically, talking to one of the partners in the interlude has one of the investigators begin The Heart of Madness with a bonus (cards or resources). Is the intention for this bonus to apply to both parts of the scenario if both are played? Only the first one played? This wording doesn’t say “the next scenario but rather names the scenario specifically. A: If a bonus applies to a specific scenario title, it applies to both part 1 & 2. (Ex: Page 44 [of the campaign guide], Danforth’s entry says to start Scenario IV: The Heart of Madness with 2 additional cards. Both parts are called this, and this bonus applies to both parts.) If this is NOT the case, then it would only apply to the first scenario.
Last updated
Dream-Enhancing Serum
  • Q: Per FAQ 2.0 entry 2.2.1 Treachery Subtitles we are told to interpret Whispering Chaos and Whispering Chaos to be copies of the same card. Does adding another copy of the same treachery trigger abilities on player cards, specifically Dream-Enhancing Serum? Does the same apply to hidden enemies such as Nyarlathotep? A: FAQ 2.0 codified the rule that “drawing” a card versus “adding it to your hand” [Drawing Cards, final bullet] are distinct triggering conditions. Dream-Enhancing Serum can only activate when you draw a copy of a card you already have in hand, but both Whispering Chaos and Nyarlathotep are cards that are added to your hand.
Last updated