"Eat lead!"

“This is stupid,” Mark repeated, loading more ammo into his Browning automatic rifle. “Statistically dubious, but also just, well, stupid.”

Finn handed him another pouch of ammo from a crate labeled STEMWARE. He knew better than to argue with the soldier. And besides, he was pretty sure his deals with the guy in the red gloves were part of the problem.

The smoky velvet kept her peace too. Promises of power had kept her from some awful snake bites, and the tides of fate had turned against them. If the party was suffering bad juju, it was anyone’s guess on how to fix it.

She pointed out the beast from the crystallizer. She had warned the bootlegger that they would be consequences but… Well, her life was mostly consequences at this point.

Mark took aim. Then started firing. And kept firing. And kept firing.

The creature was completely unharmed, even as the trees around were shattered or leaked a dark gray sap.

A burst of sunshine blazed through the space where the trees once were. A cool breeze came, smelling of huaya.

Finn turned towards Wendy, squinting his eyes. “That’s not your normal necklace.”

“No. It’s not.”

MrGoldbee · 1477
Occult Scraps

Just in case anybody else has rules questions...

While Weaknesses are generally not allowed to be discarded from a player's hand, it's perfectly legal to discard a Weakness from play... assuming, of course, that the card doesn't say otherwise. And wouldn't you know it, this is the first Investigator Weakness asset that doesn't explicitly say "This can't leave play because reasons"!

Note that you still need to have an effect that discards it; you can never just remove cards in play because you feel like it. So yes, it works with Drake's ability, but you are also allowed to pitch it to Crypt Chill if you get so lucky.

Yeah, like the Tower, it can serve as an annoying shield with the right encounter stes, but it's not too hard to get rid of with Dexter's ability (unless Yaztaroth is in play, too, in which case, you did that to yourself). One quibble: most weaknesses tell you how to discard them, which is not quite "This can't leave play because reasons." Occult Scraps is kind of unique in that you have to intuit how to get it ff the table rather than spending actions or cards or something to do it. — LivefromBenefitSt · 1073
"This can't leave play because reasons" is in reference to the first line of each of the linked cards, which all literally say "this can't leave play while [condition]" — Thatwasademo · 58
Occult Scraps

This has been updated to match my "Signature Weakness Project." I have done my best to make sure that the original content isn't altered too much, out of respect for any comments.

Another flavorful, specific-to this investigator's abilities, signature weakness. Looking at the two elements, the effect and the discard condition, we get:

The effect: One of the few weaknesses you can just hold onto, although -2 is a steep price. More likely, you will use Dexter Drake's special ability ASAP, kicking out another Asset (with luck a spent Flashlight or a Switchblade or something else cheap and useless) and suffer through a turn at -1 while waiting to ditch it for something else. if you get it during upkeep, that can make for an unpleasant Mythos phase, but what else is new? Dexter has enough options to take a -1 hit on tests for his abilities for a few actions, either by using other options like cards, testless stuff like moving and playing, or just powering through with various boosts. He's never going to want to see this, but it's hardly the most taxing in the game.

The discard condition: Use Dexter's special ability to replace this with any other Asset. Probably the turn after you play it.

All in all, this is a way below average signature weakness.

Box vs book The Scraps are paired with a fairly useful signature asset, Showmanship, and it doesn't compete with the "book" signature set, so players can easily chose to use either of both sets of options, with no clear winner.

I guess you can also use someone like Joey "The Rat" Vigil to play assets? or possibly even Sleight of hand? that way you'd be able to discard it the same turn? — Phoenixbadger · 199
There is one wacky scenario where this weakness is horrible, because you can't get rid of it unless you have a support card like Mr. Rat or get "lucky" from a certain enemy's attack. — MindControlMouse · 44
You could even fetch it with Backpack, completely avoiding it. — AlderSign · 327
you explicitly cannot fetch weaknesses with backpack — MonstruousClueFinder · 1
Nautical Prowess

A nice signature asset, although it's a skill, since it belongs to Silas Marsh. It gives a decent boost to his worst stats and a icon for everything else, with the added bonus of an extra should you need it or a card if you don't. Being a skill, it has all the jankery we have come to expect from Silas, letting you fish on tests until you find the perfect moment to let it go off.

It's attached to a signature weakness that is fairly manageable, so it's up to personal preference whether you want to go with the "box," "book," or both signature sets.

Remember also that since the timing for its effect is IF (which comes before AFTER effects) you reveal the token, so you can draw a card with it and then use his ability to return it to your hand! — Death by Chocolate · 1487
Oh, nice! — LivefromBenefitSt · 1073
Would a negative modifier include the skull, tablet and elder thing? Or does it just mean the - tokens? — BlacklistX · 1
@BlacklistX you probably won't see that but other people may be asking the same: Jim's passive say that you treat the Skull's modifier as 0, so therefore if a Symbol token gives you 0 for any reason, this doesn't apply, but if a symbol is associated with a negative modifier, then it does. — Valentin1331 · 75627
Question (since I don't own the book this comes with): do you include two copies of this in your deck if you choose the replacement (like Carson gets his signature skill twice) or only one copy? Many thanks! — SilverTwilightLodgeJanitor · 7
@SilverTwilightLodgeJanitor Only one copy. — TraXX0r · 1
I thought after came before if in Arkham? Since Try & Try Again (which says AFTER) resolves before Take Heart (which says IF) — Olimarrex · 2
Dreams of the Deep

This has been updated to match my "Signature Weakness Project." I have done my best to make sure that the original content isn't altered too much, out of respect for any comments.

A fairly unusual skill weakness. Looking at the two elements, the effect and the discard condition, we get:

The effect: If you commit this to a test, you get -2 icons. If you can't discard it by the end of your turn, take 2 damage. Lather, rinse, repeat. A bit like, less annoying, and more manageable than Rex's Curse, this is a middling sort of signature weakness. possibly punishing if drawn at the wrong moment or because of an ill-timed but mostly handleable through overcommitting on a test, which Silas is kind of master of, especially on and tests, where he has good base stats. Cards that might help include Manual Dexterity (2), Defiance (2) (to kill those pesky special tokens), Stroke of Luck, and any amount of shenanigans to pass that crucial test. It's not like they won't be useful in other tests. Beware of last action draws, and you will likely be fine. Also beware of The Tower • XVI; that thing is like Kryptonite to Silas, and will probably cost you a turn to watch this thing go off anyway. I mean, Silas is a Man of the Sea, and he laughs at 2 damage at the end of his turn... once, twice, maybe three times, but, then it's into the Deep with him.

The discard condition: Pass a test with this card committed.

All in all, this is a below average signature weakness maybe as high as average at very low XP.

Box vs book It's paired with a signature asset that's pretty good, so it's up to personal preference whether you want to go with the "box," "book," or both signature sets.

note that you can use Dreams of the Deep to intentionally fail a test (for Take Heart, for example), though it will return to your hand. I expect there's some combo potential there with the Survivor fail-to-win suite. — Zinjanthropus · 229