Trial by Fire

Obviously this card has some powerful potential for special characters like Calvin and Preston, but I have tried to use this card for normal characters (with a mix of high and low stats from 2-5), and it was not as great as I thought it would be. For a normal character the ideal would be to use this on a statistic of 2 and increase it to 5 for a turn, so it is giving you +3 on a statistic for a full turn. The problem is that it is actually kind of tricky for a typical character to use this on three skill checks in the same turn, and even harder when that skill isn't the primary skill that your character is set up to employ. I envisioned using it to plunder a site for clues with three back to back investigate actions, but it just wasn't very common for my non-investigating character to get into the situation where this would happen, I was usually out of position since I've been doing my primary purpose of dealing with monsters. In practice it was much more likely to use this card for no more than two actions in a turn. Obviously this card is way overpriced if you use it only on skill test in a turn, but really, it is still a fairly expensive way to get a bonus even on two tests in a turn. So what I ended up with was a situational card that would give a + 3 bonus, twice, only to one of my weakest skills, and cost a lot of money to play.

This is still a flexible card with a lot of potential uses and characters who might have reasons to use it, but I don't think I'll be just throwing this in, I will want to think carefully about why I am putting the card in the deck and whether the character has a benefit they are gaining this is worth the high resource cost of the card.

ChristopherA · 114
Might be worth trying with On Your Own — StyxTBeuford · 13052
Solemn Vow

I just realized that this card moves damage and don't heal or damage other cards.

According to the discussion about the Eldritch Sophist and the Archaic Glyphs you should be allowed to move damage to your guardians (or William Yorick ) Relentless for some cash. Especially Mark Harrigan would love the combo due to his ability.

Tharzax · 1
This is incorrect as Relentless does not have health and therefore cannot have damage moved to it. Damage can be placed on it by its ability only. You can however use Solemn Vow to move damage off of Relentless to something else. Damage just doesnt work the same way as secrets. — StyxTBeuford · 13052
Your right, that you can't assign damage that is dealt to the investigator to it because of the missing health. But the vow ignores the steps of assigning damage in the rulebook and moves the damage directly to a card. For me the card effect is not clearly defined without a FAQ and could be interpreted as an effect which ignores the usual rule like the ability on Relentless. But if it seems too good it can't be part of the Cthulhu-Mythos — Tharzax · 1
By that logic you could move damage to any asset that lacks a health stat, which clearly isn't the intended effect, so no. — MiskatonicFrosh · 344
Im fairly certain the reason you can’t is because you can only move game elements to legal destinations, and moving damage/horror requires assigning them, which does follow the rules of needing health/sanity values. The only reason Relentless can put damage on itself is because the card ability overrides the normal restriction specifically for itself- Solemn Vow does not make any exceptions. — StyxTBeuford · 13052
But by it's own ability relentless seems to be a valid target for health tokens, which are moved outside the rule for dealing damage/horror. — Tharzax · 1
That is incorrect. If it were a valid target for health tokens, then you could soak normal damage on it, which is obviously not true. It is only valid to put health tokens on it through its own ability. — StyxTBeuford · 13052
If it helps, for Relentless, use breakfast cereal marshmallows instead of damage tokens. The intended effect will be the same, you'll be less confused about how the card works, and you get to eat the tokens when you discard it :) — MiskatonicFrosh · 344
There is so far no rule that prevents damage being moved to any asset explicitly (if it does exist I'd like to see it, been trying to find it for aegis), an asset without health cannot be assigned damage and solemn vow and/or tommy need an FAQ before the intended interaction is certain. In tommys case moving damage to asset still lets his weakness destroy them so it may be intended. (otherwise why don't either card say "deal" damage instead) — Zerogrim · 296
It would be good to have a clarifying FAQ, but there’s 0 chance Solemn Vow RAI lets you move damage/horror onto any asset regardless if it has a healthy/sanity value. That kind of combo would be ridiculously broken and is very clearly not the intent behind the design, so such an FAQ would reinforce the way most people already interpret the card. All of that is to say, if the rules do somehow currently allow for us to move damage onto Relentless, they shouldn’t and any FAQ would reinforce that. — StyxTBeuford · 13052
I think there should be a FAQ for moving tokens from one card to another. For example if you move a secret with the sophist on a spell like Shrivelling does it change his type of use? — Tharzax · 1
We don't need an FAQ for that, there's already one on the Sophist confirming that tokens don't change type when moved. So you can put a secret on Shrivelling but it doesn't do anything since it's not a charge. — StyxTBeuford · 13052
Excuse me, it's not on Sophist, it's on Enraptured and Truth from Fiction. — StyxTBeuford · 13052
Not quite. The general rule for Uses (X "type") prevents that: >>A card cannot bear uses of a type other than that established by its own "Uses (X type)" keyword. (For example, a card with "Uses (4 ammo)" cannot gain charges.)<< So while the FAQ confirms, that you can put secrets, charges, whatever on an asset without any uses, you cannot move Secrets onto Shrivelling. — Susumu · 382
Able Bodied

"A player controls the cards located in his or her out-of-play game areas (such as the hand, deck, discard pile)."

So does this mean that your deck cannot contain more than 1 item? It would make more sence if the card's ability was: While ther are 2 item assets in your play area...

I was planning to include this into Silas' deck, however his innitial 2 items make this card already unuseful. But pure narative of Silas in my opinion is, that he IS able bodied. He is a sailor.

holandato · 2
This is a common jinx. They should have worded the rules more clear. Yes, you also control cards in the other areas, but card effects can always only interact with cards in play. (Unless of course, if the card says otherwise.) So don't worry, the card is playable. — Susumu · 382
In case you are wondering why this is the case it's in the rules reference guide under Ability. "Card abilities only interact with other cards that are in play, unless the ability specifically references an interaction with cards in an out-of-play area." — NarkasisBroon · 11
Enchant Weapon

How about compiling it with Enchanted Blade?

Does it then take 2 Arcane Slots?

Because that would also be an amazing combo for any guardian that would like to choose exactly how many damages to give...

Valentin1331 · 80748
I believe it does, as it says "in addition to" the other slots. — StyxTBeuford · 13052
Yes it does because of what Styx mentioned. Although it may not always be a bad thing since the new cycle has hinted at combinations and rewards for cards while you have certain types of card types in play, arcane included. — LaRoix · 1646
Another question: When it says exhaust _this_ card, does it refers to the Asset it is attached to or does it refer to Enchant Weapon? The first situation would mean that Galvanize can be used to take even more benefits of this amazing card. — Valentin1331 · 80748
It should just exhaust the enchantment and not the weapon by its wording — Tharzax · 1
However, you can't Galvanize the Enchant Weapon because it's an Event not an Asset :( — slyguavas · 49
Another Day, Another Dollar

This is a great way to gain money with experience, more efficient than spending experience to reduce the cost of cards. Usually when a card upgrade reduces resource cost, it will cost 1 XP to reduce the cost of a card by 1, but that only helps you if you draw the card, and only if you want to play the card at that time, and even if you do draw the card it may take you a long time to do so. With Another Day, while it costs 1.5 XP per resource, it gives you those resources always rather than sometimes, and it gives you them right at the start when you tend to need them most, rather than at some random later time that may be too late.

In general it is better to purchase this card than to upgrade your Emergency Caches into Hot Streaks. However, if you are really a glutton for money even at the cost of actions, and you need it throughout the mission rather than up front, you may be better off getting Hot Streak in addition to Emergency Cache, to bypass the limit of only two Emergency Cache in your deck. Hot Streak could also be better for certain specialty decks, like those which make special use of events, or fast drawing decks which are certain to run through the entire deck before the end of the mission.

ChristopherA · 114
Or scenarios that attack your wallet. — MrGoldbee · 1496