Fight or Flight

Let's revisit some old cards with years old reviews, for the benefit of new players.

Fight or Flight was released before Calvin Wright released, before Meat Cleaver released, and before In the Thick of It released. Survivor has also received a slew of self-horrifying cards, and ways to mitigate the risks of living on the edge of defeat. Before all that, Agnes Baker was the strongest contender for including this card, which speaks to mystics's propensity to take horror and thus it is the class that would like to splash this card the most.

I suspect that the soon to be released Hank Samson will also like this card, and it will pair well with the Sparrow Mask card that was spoiled. More contemporarily, it is an emergency button for non-fighters/evaders to get out of the death spiral that being engaged with an enemy can cause, while dedicated fighters/evaders can use it on a big turn of fighting a boss enemy or evading several enemies to get to the resign location. Lends itself to the desperate suite of cards, which I include Meat Cleaver with, and a fighting Carolyn Fern will make good use of it. Finally, Finn Edwards really needs the skill boosts, has incentives to both fight and evade, has a healthy 7 sanity to work with, and know that one day, he will draw Caught Red-Handed.

Lucaxiom · 4477
It seems Carolyn Fern can't take it. — Gsayer · 1
Dario El-Amin

Let's revisit some old cards with years old reviews, for the benefit of new players.

A very common opening in Arkham Horror is play a three cost asset, gain a resource, then play a second 3 cost asset. It feels like an efficient use of the only turn you get without an encounter card draw, but most players can tell you that an action is worth more than a resource, and the only reason that such a turn feels deceptively valuable is that you have "setup" in time for the first mythos phase. More efficient would be play, Emergency Cache, play, but that is asking a lot of the random draw of your opening hand.

That is not to forget that turn 2 exists, and you quickly feel the squeeze of 1 resource at turn start where once you had 5. Your hand will have fewer cards than when you started too, and the demands of the encounter deck and the doom timer start to manifest. Many new players I've played with start drawing cards for answers to their lack of options, and once they have then, starting clicking for resources so that they can afford them. You may scoff at their lack of action, but pressing on without your key assets or defenses is it's own folly, making you ripe for action loss through failed actions, or prey for asset hate from treacheries or action hate from enemies.

Dario El-Amin is here to save you from yourself. Forget about his first printed sentence; it is a pie-in-the-sky demand (which makes it a crime that it is not the second sentence). Focus on the second line, and think about turn 1 and 2 with Dario in your hand; play Dario El-Amin, exhaust him to bring your resource pool back to 3 resources, then play a 3-cost asset. Next turn (enemies willing), exhaust again as your first action, play another 3-cost asset, then start working on the act with your final action. Repeat any turn you draw an expensive asset after ending last turn with 0 resources.

The exhaust is a feature, not a limitation. 2 resource actions in a turn is excessive, and Dario is here to gently remind you of that fact. Why spend 2 actions gaining resources when pacing yourself to once per turn nets you that most efficient use of your time? And once you start pacing yourself, you realise that your hand and resource pool are constantly replenishing, so you really should get a move on and let your options come to you.

I focus so much on the opening turns because Dario falls off in usefulness the later he shows up. This fact makes him a 'hard mulligan target' (Def - a card which if not in your opening hand, you mulligan your entire hand to maximise your odds of finding him, regardless of the cards you are giving away). He is universally useful, as all but the leanest decks need economy, and he bankrolls your strategy regardless of whether it is fighting/investigating/evading/supporting, or whether it is asset/event heavy. 0 exp means he is universally splashable too, and should always be a consideration if your investigator has access to rogue cards.

But falling off in usefulness doesn't mean completely useless. He actually has a use for excess resources, and while you shouldn't bend over backwards to activate his first clause as his design might suggest, he does ease another mistake new players make quite often; too much economy. I would say that any role, even fighter, will make good use of an early Dario, but there is no shortage of focused rogue investigators in recent expansions to take advantage of that additional , and extra is always appreciated.

In conclusion, there may be better allies, but you won't regret drawing Dario El-Amin in most cases, and he teaches restraint, which in a hard game with little room for error, is a benefit not written anywhere.

Lucaxiom · 4477
He's cost negative for 3 actions (play, tap, tap). That's a full turn. — MrGoldbee · 1477
I disagree with this review - I think the first sentence is the reason to take him, and the second sentence may as well not be there most of the time. He costs 4 resources to play. So, it takes 6 total actions (Play, tap 5 times) for him to be worth 1 resource per action! (You end up with 10 resources, -4 for playing dario, equals 6 resources for 6 actions). Remeber that he exhausts as well, so it costs 6 actions across 6 full rounds of the game to even break even with the basic "Gain 1 resource" action. Way below Emergency Cache. || Now, the top ability is actually quite achievable for Rogues as your cardpool expands, and getting 2 stat buffs is nice. That would be the big reason to use him IMO. — Jack · 57
We just finished a TSK run with BOB JENKINS doing big money, and Dario was worthwhile every time he popped up. His stock really went up with the addition of Stylish Coat and, more importantly, Unscrupulous Loan. While admittedly Loan requires 3XP, it makes Dario into a 0XP, potential-turn-1 double-stat ally. — HanoverFist · 742
Pocket Telescope

A neat combo that folks have missed is with Think on Your Feet, which grants fast, free movement and you avoid an enemy from the encounter deck.

Pocket Telescope solves the issue of stranded clues that are now "guarded" by an enemy.

I think that non-combat clue finders like Wendy, Trish and especially Jack love this combo, moreso at low player counts.

Summoned Servitor

If I have a Summoned Servitor in-hand and one in-play, and the Dreaming Call upgrade, can I return the in-play one to my hand as the additional cost for playing the in-hand one? Or does the unique flag prevent that sort of swapping? If so can I use the in-play Summoned Servitors action(s), play the in-hand one to get a fresh Summoned Servitor, and then have the fresh Summoned Servitor do the same action(s)? Ie, if I have the Daemonic Influence upgrade and Servitor 1 Fights and Evades, then my Investigator plays Servitor 2 (removing/replacing Servitor 1), can Servitor 2 do it's own Fight and/or Evade action this turn? Normally I'd assume Servitor 1 and Servitor 2 would have their 'per turn' tracked individually, but with them being unique I'm not sure.

I'm considering running this with Dominance (remove Arcane), Eyes of Flame and Dreaming Call. All up it's 6xp to have a drone flying around either farming low Shroud locations or mopping up the last clue at mid Shroud locations that I can potentially jump back to my location for 2 resources. At a glance 6xp for two cards that will gather a handful of clues per game if deployed early/well isn't amazing, but I think the real value is in Investigating being a simple background task that the drone can perform reliably enough that it frees the actual Seeker up to do more productive Investigations. As I understand it this can't be attacked or otherwise disrupted beyond the methods of losing an asset, and since the drone is taking the action not the Investigator it won't provoke attacks of opportunity, so it seems like once it's in-play it'll be super stable.

Overall I really like the concept behind this card but it feels like Dominance and Daemonic Influence are basically mandatory and that's 7xp before it can even do anything other than slowly wandering the map.

TenDM · 1
Unfortunately, you cannot initiate the playing of a unique card, if another copy is in play — Adny · 1
Thanks. Makes sense. Still think there could be some value in finding another way to pull it back and redeploy, but like everything else about this card it's demanding a little more investment for not quite proportional return and it adds up. — TenDM · 1
Why couldn't you repeatedly bounce Servitors? Per the rules: "Unique (*) A card with the symbol before its card title is a unique card. There can be no more than one instance of each unique card, by title, in play at any given time. A player cannot bring into play a unique card if a copy of that card (by title) is already in play. If a unique encounter card that shares a title with a unique player card would enter play, discard the player card simultaneously as the encounter card enters play. — Bloodw4ke · 81
...whereas costs are paid prior to playing the card. The initiation sequence does start with checking for restrictions as to whether the card could be played or not, which it could not on the basis of unique, but if you factor the cost pulling the card back it seems like it would be legit again? https://arkhamdb.com/rules#Appendix_I_Initiation_Sequence - it's a weird one. — Bloodw4ke · 81
Tool Belt

QUESTION:

If I swap out Flash Light with 1 charge left on it into the Tool Belt -- when I bring Flashlight back out to use does it have all all its charges again?

Or would it come out with the same number of charges it had when it went into the Tool Belt?

Lazy-T · 3
This is the reviews section, not the rules questions section. There are many other channels for those - BGG, Discord, Facebook, Reddit and probably others too. — TheNameWasTaken · 3
Since the card don't leave play if you attached it to the belt, you don't refill the uses according to the rule for uses. Anf for the other way I suppose the uses stay on the cards even if the textbox is empty, according to the FAQ of the sophist, who can move secrets on a Machete. — Tharzax · 1