
Official rules response on Call for Backup, re: the potential of healing damage/horror from cards without health. (You can't.)
Q:
Call for Backup reads, in part, "heal 1 horror from any card" and "heal 1 damage from any card". Can these effects be used to remove damage/horror from locations (or other unusual cards) that can have damage/horror placed on them for scenario mechanic reasons? (If the answer is "yes", that should really be errata'd out, or else it can break numerous scenarios.) More generally, can it be used to heal damage/horror from cards without health/sanity? (E.g. Daisy's Necronomicon.)
A:
Thank you for your interest in Arkham Horror: The Card Game.
To answer your question(s):
We are ruling that, unless explicitly stated otherwise, cards without a health value cannot have damage healed from them, and can cards without a sanity value cannot have horror healed from them.
When Call for Backup states that it can heal “any card”, that card must be able to be healed. Daisy’s Necronomicon cannot be healed.
Feel free to reach out to us if any more questions arise!
Sincerely,
Alex Werner, FFG Game Rules Specialist
Rules questions and their answers are reviewed by both the Arkham Horror: The Card Game design team and the Game Rules Specialist.